If you have any questions regarding the Healthy at Home Eviction Relief Fund, please review the frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Overview of Healthy at Home Eviction Relief Fund

This program is for renters only. Homeowners seeking help should click here.

To check the status of your application, please DO NOT call. Instead, log in to the HHERF system. (If using a mobile phone, be sure to scroll to the right!)

Federal COVID-19 relief legislation allocated funds from U.S. Treasury for emergency rental assistance. Team Kentucky’s program is described below. Tenants and landlords may apply by reading through program information and creating an account.
Purpose
  • Assist Kentucky tenants with RENT and/or UTILITIES to keep them housed.
  • Allow landlords and utilities to get substantial payments for arrearages.
  • Reduce the volume of eviction cases in Kentucky courts.
Geography
  • All Kentucky counties except Fayette County (119 of 120 counties)
  • Jefferson County residents are only eligible to apply for HHERF Rental Assistance. To apply for utility assistance in Louisville-Jefferson County: click here.
  • Apply in Lexington-Fayette County here.
Eligible Tenant applicants must meet ALL of the following:
  • Tenants in any Kentucky county outside of Fayette County.
  • Tenants in Jefferson County may apply for HHERF rent assistance but are not eligible for utility assistance.
  • Experienced income reduction/loss or other economic hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Depending on past due bills, tenant applicants may seek assistance with rent, utilities, or both.
  • IF SEEKING RENTAL ASSISTANCE: At risk of eviction as evidenced by a past due letter from landlord, a pending court eviction, eviction notice, or similar document
  • IF SEEKING UTILITY ASSTANCE: Past due on utility payments as documented in the most recent utility bill.
  • Gross household income before taxes cannot exceed 80% Area Median Income (AMI). Click Here to look up monthly income limits or annual income limits. (Jefferson County tenants are not eligible for HHERF utility assistance.)
  • Are requesting assistance for their primary residence (address where the applicant lives and sleeps).
  • If a tenant received some type of short-term assistance, this program cannot duplicate payment for a given month but can assist with rent for other months.
  • If a tenant receives monthly rent subsidy (such as Section 8), they are eligible for HHERF assistance with past due tenant portions but are not eligible for current/future rent.
  • Those living with family and paying rent informally are not eligible.
  • Those who own a trailer home and owe rent for a lot are eligible.
  • Tenants claiming they are behind on rent but have no history of rent payments at a unit may not be eligible.
Eligible Landlord applicants must meet ALL of the following:
  • Must forgive late fees, penalties, interest, and legal/court fees related to non-payment of rent.
  • Have a current written lease or sign a lease with their tenant. Click Here to download a lease template (or lease addendum if needed).
  • Must agree not to evict for any past rent due not covered by this program
  • Must agree not to initiate eviction until at least 30 days after the final month covered by HHERF assistance and must give Tenant 15 days’ notice before eviction occurs.
  • Must agree to terms of the HHERF settlement agreement and submit all necessary paperwork. (Spanish version)
Form of Assistance
  • Lump sum direct deposit payments to landlords.
  • Lump sum payments to utility providers.
Amount of Assistance
  • Up to 12 months of past due rent owed since April 1, 2020 + 3 months future rent.
  • Up to 12 months of past due utilities owed since April 1, 2020 + 3 months future utilities.
  • Maximum past due rent and/or utility bills covered = 12 months
  • Maximum future rent and/or utility bills covered = 3 months
Check Your Income Eligibility

County
Total number of individuals living in the household?
Total annual household income for 2020 (before taxes and deductions)
$

(OR)
Monthly Income (Amount earned over the last 30 days before taxes and deductions)
$
Email addresses are required to submit an application.
  • The tenant must enter the landlord's email address in the tenant application.
  • The landlord must enter the tenant's email address in the landlord application.
  • If you do not have an email address, click here to learn how to set up a free email account.
Required documentation from TENANTS:
  • Copy of state ID.
  • Piece of mail indicating proof of residence if state ID does not match current address.
  • Proof of renter status, such as a current written lease.
  • One of the following may be required to document income:
    • Most recent IRS 1040 tax form
    • Proof of income for the past 30 days (paystubs, unemployment statement, etc.)
    • Letter of eligibility from an income-based program (SNAP, LIHEAP, etc.)
    • Verification of income eligibility from a caseworker or affordable housing professional using this form.
  • Documentation that you are behind on rent (if applicable): A past due letter from landlord, a pending court eviction, eviction notice, or similar document.
  • Documentation that you are behind on utilities (if applicable): Copy of most recent utility bill.
  • Once approved for HHERF rental assistance, both the tenant and landlord will be required to sign the HHERF settlement agreement. (Spanish version)
Required documentation from LANDLORDS:
  • Proof of ownership (Property deed, Property tax bill, PVA print out).
  • Copy of owner's state ID (i.e. Driver’s license) or proof of business status (tax forms, recorded Articles of Incorporation, Kentucky Secretary of State documentation, etc.
  • Current written lease with their tenant. Click Here to download a lease template (or lease addendum if needed).
  • Copy of the tenant rent ledger for the unit showing rental charges and tenant payments from April 1, 2020 to present (statements from accounting software or other document showing tenant’s rent payment history).
  • Once the application has been approved the Landlord will be emailed the following forms to complete. DO NOT complete these forms until instructed to do so:
    • HHERF Settlement Agreement signed by both the tenant and the landlord. Click Here to view the document.
    • Direct Deposit Banking Form. Click Here to view the document.
    • W-9 from company or individual receiving payment. Click Here to view the document.
    • Agency Authorization Form. Click Here to view the document.
Additional Information:
  • For a list of other assistance and resources, click here.
  • To apply for eviction relief in in Lexington-Fayette County: covid19renterhelp.org.
  • To apply for utility assistance in Louisville-Jefferson County: click here.
  • Homeowners seeking assistance should click here.
  • Homeowners in need of utility assistance: contact your local Community Action Agency.
  • To appeal a denial of HHERF assistance, follow the instructions on this form.